

MEMBERS' UPDATE June 2013

2013 Conference Notes

It was great to see so many of you at the ITEEA annual conference in Columbus, Ohio. In addition to our annual business meeting and committee work sessions, the CTETE hosted 13 presentations and 10 posters covering a range of topics from Innovative Elementary STEM Teacher Education (Michael Daugherty and Vinson Carter) to research on Understanding TSA Students' Perceptions Related to Engineering (Jerianne Taylor) and much more. Proceedings from the CTETE research presentations will be posted to the CTETE web site. We had a strong response to the call for applications for the 2014 conference, and those proposals are currently undergoing blind review. Applicants will be notified of the status of their proposals by no later than July 12th.

Phil Reed Named 2013 Technology Teacher Educator of the Year

The 2013 recipient of this highest CTETE honor was Dr. Philip A. Reed. Phil has distinguished himself within the field of technology and engineering teacher education in many ways, including through his service as a member of the CTETE executive board; as co-editor (with Jim LaPorte) of the 2010 Yearbook titled *Research in Technology Education*; as developer of a much-cited database of over 100 years of graduate student research in technology education; and as author of numerous articles and book chapters. Phil has been recognized as an ITEEA "Leader to Watch" and is a recipient of the ITEEA Award of Distinction. A graduate of Old Dominion University (BS), University of South Florida (MA) and Virginia Tech (PhD), Reed is currently Associate Professor and Department Chairperson in the Department of STEM Education and Professional Studies at ODU. Phil has been recognized for teaching excellence, maintains an active research agenda, and continues to set a high standard for professional service.

New CTETE Officer Team Members

Two new executive board members were installed at the close of the 2013 conference. Marie Hoepfl (Appalachian State University) is the 2013-2016 President and David Rouch (Ohio Northern University) is the 2013-2016 Secretary. They join Ryan Brown (Illinois State University), Vice President, and Petros Katsioloudis (Old Dominion University), Treasurer, whose three-year terms of service will end in 2014. Ed Reeve (Utah State University) moves to a new role as Past-President. Contact information for all executive board members can be found on the CTETE web site.

We also want to recognize the work of outgoing board members Richard Seymour (President, 2007-2010; Past-President 2010-2013) and Michael Grubbs (Secretary, 2010-

2013) and thank them for their many contributions. Michael Grubbs has moved into a new role as the CTETE webmaster.

CTETE Executive Board Meeting

Members of the organization's executive board met in Indianapolis on June 20-21, 2013 to review the status of CTETE initiatives and set a plan of work for the next year and beyond. You'll continue to hear more about these activities in the coming months and we look forward to working with—and for—you. We welcome your comments and suggestions.

Yearbook Update

Due to a variety of circumstances, work on the 2012 Yearbook has been significantly delayed. Yearbook editors Kenneth Welty and Jenny Daugherty and collaborating authors are hard at work this summer to complete the 2012-2013 yearbook titled *Tools and Techniques for Evaluating STEM Curricula*, which we hope to ship to members later this year. Plans are in place to bring the yearbook series back on track with a 2014 yearbook that will be presented at the Orlando conference. Members can expect to see the renewal of a formal event at the annual conference to recognize yearbook editors and authors; look for future information about the conference agenda in early 2014.

21st Century Leadership Academy 2013-2014 Cohort

The 21st Century Leadership Academy Program was initiated in 2006 to enhance leadership and professional development opportunities for junior faculty within the technology education discipline. Since that time annual cohorts of six "early career" professionals have been identified and mentored each year, representing a who's who of future leaders in the field of technology and engineering education. This year's cohort includes Tanner Huffman, Cameron Denson, Tyler Love, Sandra Cavanaugh, Greg Strimel, and Fred Figliano (view biographies here). Special thanks are due to Dr. Roger Hill and Dr. Bill Havice, who have co-chaired the CTETE Leadership Development Committee since 2006 and who have done remarkable work with 21st Century Leadership Academy from its inception.

Membership

Thanks to all of you who have renewed your membership in the CTETE this year; your membership and support matter more than ever. David Rouch (Secretary) will be following up with those of you whose membership has expired with instructions regarding renewal. We are working closely with staff at the ITEEA and look forward to new collaborations with our affiliate organization.

CTETE Listserv

The CTETE listserv continues to be a useful mechanism for communicating with fellow members of the organization; however, not all members are subscribers. We encourage you to subscribe to the list if you are not currently. <u>Instructions</u> can be found on the CTETE web site. Look for upcoming "hot topic" discussion items on the list.