



From the CTETE President

It is my great pleasure to greet you as the 2016-2019 President of CTETE. As an active member for over 23 years, I am honored to serve this organization and its members. It is very gratifying to work with a membership that enthusiastically promotes our field and works hard to improve its practices.

One goal for my term is to increase engagement of our members through communication about leadership, publication, and recognition opportunities that are available to <u>all</u> members. This means we must



place value on this work in order to allow CTETE to function efficiently. We have a shared responsibility to increase the capacity of CTETE by encouraging our own colleagues and promoting ourselves to the outside world in a time of uncertainty.

Recently we sought nominations for two positions on the executive board: Vice-President and Treasurer. We worked to solicit nominations for a number of awards, including the Technology and Engineering Teacher Educator of the Year and the Outstanding Research Awards. Our committees can benefit from the infusion of new members whose ideas we can learn from and grow with. I also want to challenge members of the organization to develop Yearbook proposals, write a Yearbook chapter, or edit a volume. Such efforts can make significant contributions to the profession and help us maintain a record of the quality research and historic trends that have shaped technology and engineering education.

I want to express my gratitude to the incredible leadership team of Marie Hoepfl, Phil Reed, Mark Mahoney, David Rouch, and Ed Reeve for their commitment to the profession during a time of many challenges for our profession. I can only hope that as leader of the executive team through 2019 I can continue to promote progress at the same high level the former committee achieved.

Looking Ahead to the 2017 Annual Conference



The 2017 ITEEA annual conference will be held March 16-18 in Dallas, Texas. The full CTETE conference agenda has been posted at http://ctete.org/. Highlights include research presentations on cognition and design-based education, among other topics; a panel discussion focused on recruitment to teacher education programs; poster presentations; and the annual awards and yearbook dinner. Please also plan to attend the CTETE Business Meeting and committee work session, scheduled for Friday, March 17. We look forward to seeing you!



Congratulations to the 2016 CTETE Award Winners

We extend congratulations to the winners of the CTETE recognition awards for 2016. They included Charles McLaughlin of Rhode Island College as Technology and Engineering Teacher Educator of the Year; John Wells of Virginia Tech, Outstanding Research Award; Mary Annette Rose (Ball State University), Steve Shumway (Brigham Young University), Vinson Carter (University of Arkansas) and Josh Brown (Illinois State University), winners of the Silvius-Wolansky Manuscript Award; William Havice Outstanding University), International Travel Award; and William Hughes of Park Forest Middle School in Pennsylvania, recipient of the inaugural Gerhard Salinger Award.



John Wells (left) and Charlie McLaughlin



Josh Brown (left) and Steve Shumway

Annette Rose and Vinson Carter



Bill Hughes (left) and Bill Havice

A New CTETE Web Site

In Summer 2016 we unveiled a new CTETE web site: http://ctete.org/. Created in conjunction with web developer Dave Esposito, we hope the site provides a more navigable, mobile-friendly resource for members. The site was designed as a repository for resources that members have long been able to find at our web site, such as yearbooks and monographs. We also planned for expansion: our goal is to disseminate information collected through the work of our strategic committees. This will include links to pertinent research collected by our Research Committee; highlighted curriculum models identified by our Curriculum Committee; and expanded links and partnerships with related organizations. Past President Marie Hoepfl is currently serving as the web site liaison.

Another important goal is to provide information about all of the technology and engineering teacher education programs across the country on our TTE Programs page. We will be working to create a consistent format with key information about every program identified on the recent marketing poster that was developed jointly by the CTETE and ITEEA, disseminated in the October 2016 issue of The Technology and Engineering Teacher, and is now available for download on the ITEEA web site. A brochure-size version of this poster was printed by the CTETE and distributed at the TSA National Conference in June 2016.



With the transition to our new web presence, we also wish to acknowledge the efforts of Michael Grubbs. who served as the CTETE webmaster for several years. Many thanks for your service, Michael!



The 2016-2017 Officer Team

March 2016 saw a transition in members of the CTETE officer team with the election of a new President and new Secretary. With the election of Charlie McLaughlin (Rhode Island College) as President, Marie Hoepfl assumed the role of Past President. Former Secretary David Rouch (Ohio Northern University) was replaced by Thomas Loveland (University of Maryland Eastern Shore). Ed Reeve completed his years of service as Past President. (No stranger to professional service, Ed ended his six years' service to the Council and was promptly selected as President-Elect of the ITEEA!) We extend our most sincere thanks to departing officers David Rouch and Ed Reeve for their outstanding contributions to the organization and to the profession.

All CTETE officers serve three-year, non-renewable terms. Our elections are structured so that there is continuity on the executive committee, with President and Secretary elections one year, Vice President and Treasurer elections the following year, and no elections the third year. As members are aware, we are currently in the process of electing a new Vice President and Treasurer. Terms of service transition at the end of the ITEEA annual conferences.

The current executive committee includes Charles McLaughlin (President), Philip Reed (Vice President), Mark Mahoney (Treasurer), Thomas Loveland (Secretary), and Marie Hoepfl (Past President).



Charles McLaughlin, Marie Hoepfl, Philip Reed, Mark Mahoney, & Thomas Loveland

CTETE Officers' Retreat

Whenever possible, during those years when new officers are elected members of the executive committee meet for a mid-year retreat and planning session. We were fortunate in being able to hold a retreat in June 2016 in Boone, NC. These retreats are valuable for a number of reasons, most importantly that they allow the officer team to assess overall directions and to conduct in-depth planning for the work of the Council

for the coming year. In addition to maintaining and strengthening the core functions of the CTETE, some key decisions made at the June retreat included the following initiatives:

- To support establishment of liaisons with selected professional organizations, such as the ASEE and PATT. With approval of the membership, money will be allocated to specifically support travel to these sister conferences, with the expectation that formal relationships will be fostered as a result.
- To offer a reduced membership rate for graduate students.
- To continue efforts toward establishment of revised program accreditation standards, with CTETE
 acting as an accrediting body.
- To enhance communication efforts between the executive committee and the other committees of the Council, to better assure that strategic goals are met.

All of these efforts depend on the participation and support of you, our members. We welcome your input, appreciate your support, and look forward to working with you at the CTETE business meeting and beyond.