Technology & Engineering Teacher Educator of the Year:
Charles McLaughlin, Rhode Island College

Outstanding Research Award:
John Wells, Virginia Tech

Silvius-Wolansky Award: for the article titled Identifying Characteristics of Technology and Engineering Teachers Striving for Excellence Using a Modified Delphi, published in the Spring 2015 issue of the Journal of Technology Education.

Mary Annette Rose, Ball State University
Steve Shumway, Brigham Young University
Vinson Carter, University of Arkansas
Josh Brown, Illinois State University

International Travel Award:
William Havice, Clemson University

Gerhard Salinger Award:
William H. Hughes, Park Forest Middle School, State College, PA

Past award winners_edited-1

Technology Teacher Educator Of The Year

2016 Charles McLaughlin
2015 John Wells
2014 Chris Merrill
2013 Philip Reed
2012 William Havice
2011 Marie Hoepfl
2010 Ron Todd
2009 Roger Hill
2008 James Haynie III
2007 Kenneth Welty
2006 Len Litowitz
2005 Michael Scott
2004 Sharon Brusic
2003 Karen F. Zuga
2002 Mark E. Sanders
2001 Michael K. Daugherty

2000 Robert C. Wicklein
1999 Rodney L. Custer
1998 Richard D. Seymour
1997 Anthony Schwaller
1996 Anthony Gilberti
1995 David L. McCrory
1994 Douglas L. Pollete
1993 John M. Ritz
1992 Richard M. Henak
1991 James E. Laporte
1990 John R. Wright
1989 Everett N. Israel
1988 R. Thomas Wright
1987 Lee H. Smalley

(Previous Award Title) Industrial Arts Teacher Educator of the Year

1986 G. Eugene Martin
1985 Franzie L. Loepp
1984 James J. Buffer, Jr.
1983 Ervin A. Dennis
1982 William E. Dugger, Jr.
1981 David L. Jelden
1980 M. James Bensen
1979 Donald P. Lauda
1978 Daniel L. Householder
1977 Alvin E. Rudisill
1976 William T. Sargent
1975 Lawrence S. Wright
1974 Donald G. Lux
1973 George H. Ditlow
1972 Willis E. Ray
1971 Paul W. DeVore

1970 Donald Maley
1969 Rutherford E. Lockette
1968 Fredrick D. Kagy
1967 Ralph C. Bohn
1966 Robert L. Swanson
1965 Rupert N. Evans
1964 (None Selected)
1963 John L. Feirer
1962 William J. Micheels
1961 Ivan Hostetler
1960 M. Ray Karnes
1959 Kenneth W. Brown
1958 R. Lee Hornbake
1957 Burl Osburn
1956 Gordon Wilber

Silvius-Wolansky Outstanding Publication Award

Recipients of the outstanding publication award, recognized with the assistance of the G. Harold Silvius Foundation at Iowa State University, are listed below:

2009: Dennis Herschbach. Technology Education: Foundations & Perspectives

2008: Todd Kelley. (2008). Cognitive processes of students participating in two approaches to technology education. Journal of Technology Education, 19(2), 50-64.

2007:  Stephen Petrina.

2006: Scott Warner & Laura Morford. (2004).The status of design in technology teacher education in the United States. Journal of Technology Education, 15(2) 33-45.

2005: Theodore Lewis. (2004) A turn to engineering: The continuing struggle of technology education for legitimization as a school subject. Journal of Technology Education, 16(1), 21-39.

2003: Philip A. Reed (Ed.). (2001, 2003). CTTE Monograph 17: Technology Education Graduate Research Database.

2002: Mark Sanders. (2001). New paradigm or old wine? The status of technology education practice in the United States. Journal of Technology Education, 12(2), 35-55.

2001: Marcia Braundy, Pat O’Riley, Stephen Petrina, Stephen Dalley, & Annabell Paxton. (2001). Missing XX chromosomes or gender in/equity in design and technology education? The case of British Columbia. Journal of Industrial Teacher Education, 37(3), 54-92.

2000: Theodore Lewis. (1999). Content or process as approaches to technology curriculum: Does it matter come Monday morning? Journal of Technology Education, 11(1), 45-59.

1999: Richard Kimbell. (1997). Assessing technology: International trends in curriculum and assessment. London: Open University Press.

1998:  Karen Zuga. (1996). Reclaiming the voices of female and elementary school educators in technology education. Journal of Industrial Teacher Education, 33(3), 23-43.

1997:  Robert Wicklein & Roger Hill. (1996). Navigating the straits with research or opinion? Setting the course for technology education. International Journal of Technology and Design Education, 6(1), 31-43.

1996: Rodney Custer. (1996). Performance based education: Implementation handbook for technology education. Columbia, MO: University of Missouri.

Outstanding Research in Technology Education Award

2005: Cory Culbertson, Michael Daugherty, & Chris Merrill. Effects of modular technology education on junior high school students’ achievement scores.

2003: Anthony Schwaller. Modular technology classrooms and the Standards
for Technological Literacy

2002: Mark Sanders. Status of Technology Education Programs in the US.

2001: Steve Shumway. A Comparison of Cooperative-Cooperative and Cooperative-Competitive Classroom Goal Structures and Their Effect on Group Problem-Solving Performance and Student Attitudes Toward Their Learning Environment

Outstanding Technology Teacher Education Program Award

2006 Ball State University
2005 lllinois State University
California University of Pennsylvania
2003 Millersville University
Old Dominion University
1997 Ball State University
1996 California University of Pennsylvania
Millersville University
Old Dominion University
Virginia Tech